top of page


for wind quintet


Levels brings to the listener’s imagination three stages in a computer game that resembles Super Mario Brothers. Each level begins with a relatively tonal chorale-like passage depicting the unknown backstory of the persona, and is followed by a granular, pointillistic section that aims to emulate semi-aleatoric sound effects, as heard when the persona defeats an enemy, gets hurt, or collects power-ups.

LevelsTjan Yi Xuan
00:00 / 01:32
bottom of page